Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Upton a finalist for 2012 Hank Aaron Award

Posted Oct 10, 2012 by Roger Mooney

Updated Oct 10, 2012 at 04:14 PM

Rays CF B.J. Upton is a finalist for the 2012 Hank Aaron Award, presented annually to the most outstanding offensive performer in each league.

One player from each major league team is nominated.

Fans can vote on the winner at through Oct. 16. The winner will be announced during the World Series.

Upton batted .246. He led the team with 28 home runs and 78 RBIs. View his 2012 stats here:

The award was introduced in 1999. Past winners include: Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.