Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Tampa Catholic to induct 7

Posted Jun 20, 2012 by Rick Harmon

Updated Jun 20, 2012 at 02:48 PM

Seven new members of the Tampa Catholic Athletic Hall of Fame have been announced.

The 2012 inductees are:

Nick DiMaggio – former athletic director and coach; Julius Storch (class of 1971, posthumously) – baseball; Marty Garcia (1977) – baseball; Yolie Espino-Fielder (1976) – softball and volleyball; Bill Staunko (1970) – football and former coach; Tommy Jones (1982) – basketball, and 1976 girls softball team – Tampa Catholic’s first women’s team to win state championship and coach Sherry Schaibly.

The inductees will be recognized at the Tampa Catholic Hall of Fame Dinner on Saturday, Aug. 4 at the Crusader Gymnasium.

The keynote speaker will be 1976 alumna and 1996 Paralympics medalist Sue Moucha.

The dinner and ceremony are open to the public. Tickets are $30 each which includes dinner and refreshments and may be purchased at the school’s web site

Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.