Roger Mooney covers the Tampa Bay Rays for The Tampa Tribune, TBO.com and News Channel 8. He has covered the Rays since their first season in 1998, including 11 years for the Bradenton Herald. Roger has also covered Florida, South Florida and Florida State football, the Bucs and the Lightning.
Most Recent Entries
- Boys Basketball:FABC/Source Hoops Florida State Poll
- No Kloss? It’s baffling
- Boys Basketball: Robinson’s Brown reaches 1,000 career points
- Bucs’ Gholston a finalist for top weekly rookie honors
- Pasco High TE/DL Bowman Archibald picks up two Division I offers
- Girls Basketball: FABC/Source Hoops State Poll
- Land O’ Lakes boys soccer coach Mark Pearson earns 300th career win
- Manuel signs deal with Panini Authentic
- Panini previews Gold Standard basketball
- Golf: All-Western Conference Teams
- Baseball: Jesuit OF Taylor selects Duke
- Land O’ Lakes defensive standout Shaheed Salmon picks up first offer
- Football: All-Western Conference Teams
- Rays non-tender Fuld
- Chargers WR Allen top rookie in Week 12 voting
Shouse can thank 10.17(c) for that
Posted May 7, 2009 by Marc Lancaster
Updated May 7, 2009 at 11:29 PM
NEW YORK—An interesting little footnote to tonight’s game is Brian Shouse being credited with the win, his first as a Ray, even though he wasn’t yet in the game when the Rays took the lead for the last time.
The official scorer cited Rule 10.17(c) in awarding the victory to Shouse rather than Dan Wheeler, who otherwise would have been the pitcher of record for the Rays.
That rule reads as follows:
The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.
In other words, by blowing a two-run lead and allowing the Yankees to tie the game, Wheeler didn’t deserve the win when his teammates picked him up, in the scorer’s estimation. And it appears there was some discretion there, based on the comment that follows that entry in the rulebook:
The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief if such relief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(b) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.
Wheeler pitched a full inning, not two-thirds, but it’s hard to argue the ineffectiveness.
So anyway, that’s how Shouse ended up with the ‘W’ before Joe Nelson came on for the save.
And there isn’t anything wrong with Troy Percival. Joe Maddon said he “really wanted to give him a day off” after the veteran pitched three of the previous four days—recording a save each time. Maddon said Grant Balfour would have been next in line behind Nelson if he had faltered.