Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Price wins Cy Young

Posted Nov 14, 2012 by Roger Mooney

Updated Nov 14, 2012 at 07:33 PM

There is a new king of the hill in the American League.

His name is David Price.

The Tampa Bay Rays left-hander received the American League Cy Young Award this evening as the top pitcher in the league during the 2012 season.

The award was voted on by members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of American and was announced on the MLB Network.

“It means a ton,” Price said, who beat runner-up Justin Verlander of Detroit by four votes.

It was the closest Cy Young race since 1969, when Mike Cuellar and Denny McLain finished in a tie.

Price was 20-5 with a 2.56 ERA. He led the American League in wins and ERA.

Price, who finished second in the Cy Young voting in 2010, allowed two earned runs or less in an American League-high 23 starts. He had a 1.62 ERA in six no-decisions and twice pitched eight innings of shutout ball in what eventually became a 1-0 loss for the Rays.

Price, 27, was 10-2 with a 2.51 ERA in 16 starts against the American League East.

He also won 13 games against teams with winning records, which tied him with Jered Weaver of the Los Angeles Angels for first in that category.

Price is the first pitcher in Rays history to earn a Cy Young Award.

He joins Evan Longoria, Jeremy Hellickson and Joe Maddon as members of the team to receive postseason awards from the BBWAA.

Longoria was American League Rookie of the Year in 2008. Hellickson was AL Rookie of the Year in 2011.

Maddon was named American League Manager of the Year in 2008 and 2011.

Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.