Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Niemann fourth in AL rookie voting

Posted Nov 16, 2009 by Tribune Sports

Updated Nov 16, 2009 at 06:50 PM

Right-handed pitcher Jeff Niemann, the Rays’ most pleasant surprise in 2009, finished fourth in the Baseball Writers Association American League Rookie of the Year voting announced today.

Niemann, who won the fifth starter’s job on the last day of spring training, went 13-6 with a 3.94 earned-run average, leading the Rays’ starters in wins and ERA. His Rookie of the Year candicacy was hurt by the fact he went from Aug. 24 to Sept. 2i without a win.

Oakland Athletics closer Andrew Bailey won the AL honor, and Florida Marlins outfielder Chris Coghlan, an East Lake High product, won the award in the National League.

Bailey, who had 26 saves and a 1.84 ERA, was selected first on 13 of 28 ballots and finished with 88 points. Texas shortstop Elvis Andrus was the runner-up with 65 points, and Detroit starting pitcher Rick Porcello finished third with 64 points.

Coghlan, who became the lead-off hitter for the Marlins, batted .321 with nine homers and 31 doubles in 128 games.

Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.