Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Maddon 7th to win AL manager of the year at least twice

Posted Nov 16, 2011 by Roger Mooney

Updated Nov 16, 2011 at 03:31 PM


Joe Maddon received 26 of a possible 28 first place votes to easily outdistance the field for the 2011 AL Manager of the Year Award.

Maddon, who also won manager of the year in 2008, is the seventh AL manager to win the award more than once.

He received one second place vote for a total of 133 points. He was left completely off one ballot.

Runner-up Jim Leyland (one first place, 13 second place, 10 third place) of the Tigers and Ron Washington (one first place, seven second, five third) of the Rangers, who finished third, were the others to receive a first-place vote.

Manny Acta (three second place, seven third) of the Indians was fourth, followed by Joe Girardi (three second place, five third) of the Yankees and Mike Scioscia (one second place, one third) of the Angels.

Two members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in each American League city voted. The ballot called for three votes with five points awarded for first place, three points for second and one point for third place.

Tony LaRussa won the award three times in the American League.

Sparky Anderson, Joe Torre, Lou Piniella, Buck Showalter and Scioscia all won the award twice.


Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.