Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home

Loney, Zo, Escobar, Longo learn tonight if they’ve won Gold Gloves

Posted Oct 29, 2013 by Roger Mooney

Updated Oct 29, 2013 at 09:31 AM

All four of the Rays infielders are finalists for Gold Glove Awards, which will be presented at 8 p.m. tonight on ESPN2.

Third baseman Evan Longoria could win his third Gold Glove, while first baseman James Loney, second baseman Ben Zobrist and shortstop Yunel Escobar are vying for their first Gold Gloves.

Together they combined for a major league-low 29 errors.

Escobar led all major league shortstops with a .989 fielding percentage, while Zobrist led AL second basemen in fielding with a .993 percentage.

Here are the AL finalists at the four infield spots:

1B – Loney; Chris Davis, Orioles; Eric Hosmer, Royals

2B – Zobrist; Robinson Cano, Yankees; Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox

3B – Longoria; Adrian Beltre, Rangers; Manny Machado, Orioles

SS – Escobar; Alcides Escobar, Royals; J.J. Hardy, Orioles

Rays pitcher Jeremy Hellickson won the award last season. First baseman Carlos Peña (2008), left fielder Carl Crawford (2010) and Longoria (2009 and 2010) also won Gold Gloves.

Reader Comments

Post a comment


(Requires free registration.)

Auto-login on future visits

Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.